The Massive Award is given to the Lake County Athlete of the Year or the Lake County Contributor of the Year. The recipient must have demonstrated outstanding achievement towards athletics, leadership, sportsmanship, or recreation during the previous twelve months.

A contributor can be an entity, business, or organization. The award does not have to be given annually if the Sports Hall of Fame board does not believe there is a suitable candidate.


Dano Aldaz represented the U.S. in the World Deaf Golf Championships where his team was crowned champions, Dano placed 9th overall as an individual.


Camille Dupont completed his collegiate wrestling career as a two time All-American, National Runner-up, and was named the Colorado Wrestler of the Year.


Peter Frykholm spearheaded the Community Park Project. His leadership and foresight were the catalyst for an extraordinary grassroots campaign that raised over $1.2 million, logged 9,200 volunteer hours, moved 25,000 cubic yards of earth to convert a Superfund site –where the Western Zinc Oxide Mill once reigned— into a public sports complex.


AJ Salazar completed his Sophomore wrestling season with a record of 37-3. He was a Colorado State Champion, Frontier League Champion, and Frontier League Wrestler of the Year. In addition, he was the USA Wrestling Greco State Champion, Grappling State Champion, and Freestyle State Runner-up.


Alex Willis completed his collegiate career at the University of New Mexico as a member of the Lobo’s Cross Country team that was crowned Mountain West Conference Champions and NCAA Regional Champions. Willis earned his third Academic All-Conference selection, and was also named All-Mountain West in the 3000m Steeple Chase during the track & field season.


Lynette Clemons was the women’s champion of the Leadville Trail 100 with a time of 19:59:06—the third fastest time in race history for the division. Having won the women’s division in 2009, the hometown racer added a second gold belt buckle to her collection.


During the 2013-14 academic year Aaron Medina was named to the Western Slope League’s All-Conference First Team in football; while wrestling in the 220lb. weight category Aaron was the Frontier League Champion, Regional Champion, and fourth in the Colorado State Championships.


AJ Salazar was the National Collegiate Wrestling Association (NCWA) Regional Champion and National Champion in the 133 weight class. He completed his collegiate wrestling season with a 30-12 record.


Marvin Sandoval was named the 2015 Life Time Fitness Leadville Race Series Leadman Champion. The progressive series consisted of the Trail Marathon, Silver Rush 50 Run, Silver Rush 50 Bike, Trail 100 MTB, Trail 10K, and Leadville Trail 100 Run for a total of 282.4 miles.


Huck Finn Park Committee: With the help and support of myriad volunteers, Greg Race, Leaf Treinen, Carrie Mallozzi, Becca Katz, and Mike Bordogna conceived and spearheaded the Huck Finn Park Project. This included successfully securing funding for all phases of the skate park, tennis courts, and ice rink building projects.